I am not sure if Wiesenthal did the right thing or not. Deep down I truly believe that Wiesenthal should forgive the dying Nazi soldier, but I’m not sure if it was possible at that time.

                The Nazi soldier made his mistake by placing his guilt on one man whom he never actually committed the offense too instead of trying to make a difference before his last breath. I think it is almost impossible for someone to forgive someone else for crimes against an entire race or large group of people, unless you are Jesus Christ. I probably would have felt sorry for the Nazi soldier if he had been honest with his reasons as to why he acted out on these orders, and if he had not been on his last breath. I think his apology would have been more sincere if he had confessed not on his death bed, but had been able to receive a punishment. I guess I would have been happier if Karl Seidl had completed harsh works compared to Hercules and his twelve labors in order to obtain reparation for what he had done. I feel that Seidl’s confession might not have been as genuine as it could have been; but that he was prompted by the looming fear of hell to seek the forgiveness of someone who could pardon the wrongdoings he made against more than one hundred and fifty Jewish people.

                The fact that Wiesenthal was able to walk away from a dying man’s plea makes me agree even more with his decision to remain quiet. I don’t think there is a correct answer to what this Seidl asked Wiesenthal to do. My Christian belief tells me repeatedly in order to receive forgiveness from God you must give forgiveness to those who have harmed you. I know it is the right thing to forgive Karl Seidl but I’m not sure if I could do it personally. I don’t think I would have the authority to forgive him for what he did to over one hundred and fifty people. I think that is too much to ask of one person. I agree with Wiesenthal when he suggests justice instead of vengeance. I don’t think it was right of him to make this his dying wish, I think he should have died with the burden of what he had done instead of dying with relief. Karl Seidl had done nothing to adjust his guilt before his death (that we know of). He obviously felt guilty about what he did, therefore he should have confessed in order to receive some kind of punishment, instead of dying peacefully in his sleep guilt free.

