Opening Night was a stressful one. Not because of the usual pressure of performing in a crowd, but the fact that our director Nora Cole chose to change certain blocking (places where we are supposed to be) for the closing number of Act One.

This play has been a learning experience for me personally because I chose to use this show as an example of what my life could be like if I chose to go into the field of entertainment, more specifically Broadway. This show was not at all what I expected, because I thought as a director and choreographer routines and a general vision would have been laid out at the start of rehearsals back in January. Unfortunately/fortunate for me our director decided to work in a very “organic way” as opposed to my “synthetic” approach. Literally, the show changed every night and opening night was no different.

When working organically, things change at the drop of a hat. Every audience saw a different show. On opening night, lines were dropped or entrances were late or forgotten. The rest of the cast wasn’t too happy about some people dropping entrances, since we all depended on each other to provide our next move. On opening night, not many people joked around. Everyone had a job to do and were focused enough to do it, so we were able to put on an awesome show. All in all it was not a bad way to start off seven shows.

